## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**Date:** March 23, 2015

**CONTACT:** Taylor Flatt, National Coordinator

Sports Information Director, Alabama in Huntsville

Phone: (256) 824-6008 E-mail: ktf00002@uah.edu



## Wayne State's Shareta Brown Honored as 2015 Daktronics/Division II CCA Women's Basketball National Player of the Year

**HUNTSVILLE, Ala.** – Shareta Brown of Wayne State University has been voted as the 2015 Daktronics/Division II Conference Commissioners Association Division II Women's Basketball National Player of the Year, headlining this year's Daktronics/Division II CCA Women's Basketball All-American selections.

Brown guided her team to the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference South Division title, earning an impressive eight GLIAC Player of the Week honors on her way to also being named the GLIAC Player of the Year and the Daktronics Midwest Region Player of the Year. For the season, Brown – who was a First Team All-American a year ago – averaged 22.0 points and 14.7 rebounds per contest.

Joining Brown on the first team are Amy Philamlee of Union, Fort Hays State's Kate Lehman, Lindsay Stamp from Indiana (Pa.), and Morgan Pullins of St. Mary's.

This year's second team features Hawaii Pacific's Morganne Comstock, Elite Eight-bound New Haven's Aquillin Hayes, Michelle Mitchell of Columbus State, Caldwell's Emily Caswell, and Mariyah Brawner-Henley of Lewis who will also be playing in this week's Elite Eight in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

The third team this season is comprised of Madison Rowland of Queens, Arkansas Tech's Fatima Adams, Augustana's Shaunteva Ashley, Chontiquah White of West Texas A&M, Jamie Johnson from Lewis, and Shaw's Verdine Warner.

Erin Chambers of Simon Fraser, Jada Blackwell from Cal Poly Pomona, Limestone's Alicia Brookins, Jasmine Wilkins of Nova Southeastern, and Megan Mullings from Alaska Anchorage were honorable mention selections.

The All-America teams are sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. Voting is conducted by the NCAA Division II sports information directors from institutions and conference offices.

## The First Team

**Shareta Brown** of Wayne State finished the season scoring 22.0 points per game while grabbing 14.7 rebounds per contest en route to being named the Midwest Player of the Year. The nation's leader in double-doubles with 25 on the season, Brown also paces all of Division II in field goal percentage with a 64.9 percent mark while also leading the country in rebounds per game and offensive rebounds per game. The senior finished her campaign scoring at least 12 points in each game while registering 20 performances of at least 20 points and five games with at least 30 points.

**Amy Philamlee** of Union earns a place on the first team after guiding Union to the top seed of the South Regional in the program's first year of eligibility for the postseason, and after taking her team to the championship game of the regional, she was named the event's Most Outstanding Player. Philamlee is the

nation's leading scorer with 24.7 points per contest, and the Gulf South Conference and South Region Player of the Year also ranks second in the country with 7.9 assists per contest. For her efforts, she was a five-time GSC Player of the Week while also earning a USBWA National Player of the Week honor once.

**Kate Lehman** of Fort Hays State is named to the first team after earning Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Player and Defensive Player of the Year honors. Lehman ranked third this season with 4.2 blocks per game, and she finished her career as the only Division II player to record 1,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 500 blocks. This season, Lehman recorded 18 double-doubles to finish her career with 55 while also notching three career triple-doubles, and she finished the season as the MIAA's second-best scorer with 19.3 points per contest.

**Lindsay Stamp** of Indiana (Pa.) lands on the first team after capturing Atlantic Region Player of the Year honors while earning the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Player of the Year award. Stamp led the PSAC in scoring with 19.6 points per contest and was the only player in the Atlantic Region to average at least 19 points and eight rebounds per game. Featuring 15 20-point games and 10 double-doubles, Stamp was honored five times as a PSAC West Athlete of the Week, and she wrapped up her career with more than 1,500 points.

**Morgan Pullins** of St. Mary's garnered first-team status after being named the South Central Region and Heartland Conference Player of the Year. She ranks sixth in the country with 20 double-doubles while also placing 12th in the nation in rebounding with 12.0 per contest, and Pullins finished the season averaging a double-double with 20.0 points per game to go along with the strong rebounding average. Scoring in double figures in 24 of the team's 27 games this season, she finishes her career at St. Mary's as the program's all-time leading scorer.

First Team					
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Class	Hometown
Shareta Brown	Wayne State	Center	6-1	Senior	Pontiac, Mich.
Amy Philamlee	Union	Guard	5-5	Senior	Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Kate Lehman	Fort Hays State	Center	6-4	Senior	Newton, Kan.
Lindsay Stamp	Indiana (Pa.)	Guard/Forward	5-10	Senior	Erie, Pa.
Morgan Pullins	St. Mary's	Forward	6-0	Senior	Franklin, Mich.
Second Team					
Morganne Comstock	Hawaii Pacific	Center	6-2	Senior	Seattle, Wash.
Aquillin Hayes	New Haven	Guard	5-8	Senior	Harlem, N.Y.
Michelle Mitchell	Columbus State	Guard	5-9	Junior	Eastman, Ga.
Emily Caswell	Caldwell	Forward	6-1	Senior	Wakefield, R.I.
Mariyah Brawner-Henley	Lewis	Forward	6-0	Junior	Skokie, Ill.
Third Team					
Madison Rowland	Queens (N.Y.)	Guard/Forward	5-10	Sophomore	Albany, N.Y.
Fatima Adams	Arkansas Tech	Forward	5-10	Junior	Bryan, Texas
Shaunteva Ashley	Augustana	Guard	5-8	Senior	Sioux Falls, S.D.
Chontiquah White	West Texas A&M	I Forward/Center	5-11	Senior	Dallas, Texas
Jamie Johnson	Lewis	Guard	5-8	Junior	South Holland, Ill.
Verdine Warner	Shaw	Center	6-4	Senior	St. Vincent and the
					Grenadines

**Honorable Mention:** Erin Chambers (Simon Fraser), Jada Blackwell (Cal Poly Pomona) Alicia Brookins (Limestone), Jasmine Wilkins (Nova Southeastern), Megan Mullings (Alaska Anchorage)