

## 2016 DIVISION II CONFERENCE COMMISSIONERS ASSOCIATION DIVISION II MEN'S BASKETBALL ALL-AMERICA TEAMS

Contact: Bob Shreve, Sports Information Director, Edinboro University Phone: (814) 732-1834 E-mail: rshreve@edinboro.edu

### DATE: March 21, 2016

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

# Colorado Mesa's Ryan Stephan Selected Division II Conference Commissioner's Association Men's Basketball Ron Lenz National Player of the Year

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-America Men's Basketball Team is sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

The All-America Men's Basketball team is selected by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

#### National Coordinator

Bob Shreve, Edinboro University

Atlantic Region Coordinator Adam Zundell, Mountain East Conference

**Central Region Coordinator** Michael Linnell, Minot State University

**East Region Coordinator** David Alexander, College of St. Rose

**Midwest Region Coordinator** David Buck, University of Findlay

South Central Region Coordinator Brian Kortz, Western New Mexico University

Southeast Region Coordinator Christian Stryker, Coker College

South Region Coordinator Ben Greenberg, Florida Southern College

West Region Coordinator Evan O'Kelly, Montana State Billings **EDINBORO, Pa.** – Ryan Stephan of Colorado Mesa University was today named the Division II Conference Commissioners Association 2016 Men's Basketball Ron Lenz National Player of the Year. Stephan head-lines the D2CCA Men's Basketball All-American Teams. Voting was conducted by the NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors from institutions and conference offices.

Stephan was joined on the first team by West Liberty's Seger Bonifant, Taevaunn Prince of Missouri Southern State, Augustana(SD)'s Daniel Jansen, and Devin Schmidt of Delta State.

Augustana was the lone school with more than one player on the All-American squad, with Casey Schilling named to the third team. Four honorees were recognized in 2015, as well. Bonifant was a first team selection a year ago, with Jansen moving up from the second team. Schilling was an honorable mention selection last year, as was Barry's Yunio Barrueta, a second-team selection in 2016.

Stephan was previously named the D2CCCA South Central Region Player of the



Ryan Stephan of Colorado Mesa, the 2016 D2CCA Ron Lenz National Player of the Year

Year and was the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Player of the Year. He is one of 25 finalists for the Bevo Francis Award, which will be presented to the best small college player in the country.

The 6'10" senior ranks second in Division II in scoring (25.6 ppg.), second in total rebounds (343), and fourth in rebounding (11.4 rpg.). He shot 56.7 percent from the floor, including making 35 3-pointers, and was at 81.5 percent from the line. The native of Lakewood, Colo. leads Division II in double-doubles (23), along with ranking third in total rebounds (343), fourth in free throw attempts (276), sixth in free throws made (225), and eighth in total points (768). He led the Maverick to a 21-9 record and concluded his career second in career scoring at CMU with 2,073 points. He ranks in the top ten in 15 different season and career categories at CMU.

Bonifant and Jansen have led their respective teams to the Elite Eight, with West Liberty set to face Stonehill on Wednesday, March 23 after winning their fifth Atlantic Region title in the last six years, and Augustana(SD) capturing their first-ever Central Region crown to earn a berth against Tarleton State.

Bonifant, also a first team D2CCA choice a year ago, is a 6'7" senior who repeated as the Mountain East Conference Player of the Year. He has led the Hilltoppers to a 30-3 record while averaging 25.0 ppg. and 5.1 rpg. while making 3.4 three-pointers per game and shooting 50.7 percentage from behind the arc. He has scored over 2,200 career points.

Jansen has been named the D2CCA Central Region Player of the Year the last two years, along with earning Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Player of the Years the last two seasons. He has helped the Vikings to a 31-2 record while averaging 20.7 ppg. and 7.4 rpg. The 6'9'' senior is the first player in program history with over 2,000 career points.

Prince is a 6'3" guard who leads Division II in scoring at 26.4 ppg., adding 10.1 rpg. The senior set a new Missouri Southern State record with 791 points and in two seasons scored 1,303 points. He led MSSU to an 18-12 finish.

Schmidt led Delta State to a 19-11 ledger while being named the D2CCA South Region Player of the Year and Gulf South Conference Player of the Year. The 6'4" junior guard is already the school's all-time leading scorer with 1,819 points after averaging 25.4 ppg. this year, currently third in Division II. He added 5.7 rpg. and 3.6 apg.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-America Men's Basketball Team is sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association. The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

### 2015-16 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Men's Basketball All-American Team

		FIRST TEAM				
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Ryan Stephan**	Colorado Mesa	С	6-10	250	Sr.	Lakewood, Colo.
Seger Bonifant#	West Liberty	G/F	6-7	200	Sr.	Berlin, Ohio
Taevaunn Prince	Missouri Southern St.	G	6-3	215	Sr.	Toronto, Canada
Daniel Jansen&	Augustana(SD)	F	6-9	240	Sr.	Orange City, Iowa
Devin Schmidt	Delta State	G	6-4	210	Jr.	Sevierville, tenn.
** Ron Lenz National Pla	yer of the Year					
SECOND TEAM						
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Yunio Barrueta%	Barry	G/F	6-5	220	Sr.	Miami, Fla.
Keenan Palmore	Lenoir-Rhyne	G	6-2	180	Sr.	Stone Mountain, Ga.
Kyle Cooper	Hillsdale	F	6-7	225	Sr.	Northville, Mich.
Desmond Williams	Southern Conn. St.	G	6-5		Sr.	Torrington, Conn.
Tyree Gaiter	Notre Dame College	G	5-7	155	Sr.	Cleveland Heights, Ohio
		THIRD	TEAM			
Name	School	Pos.	Ht.	Wt.	Yr.	Hometown
Conner Beranek	Nebraska Kearney	F	6-6	190	Sr.	Ravenna, Neb.
Andy Avgi	Western Oregon	F	6-6	260	R-Sr.	Woodburn, Ore.
Gerel Simmons	Lincoln Memorial	G	6-2	195	R-Sr.	Accokeek, Md.
Casey Schilling%	Augustana(SD)	F	6-6	215	Sr.	Ellsworth, Minn.
Sekou "Suki" Wiggs	Alaska Anchorage	G	6-4	190	Jr.	Seattle, Wash.

HONORABLE MENTION: Justin Pitts, Northern Missouri State; Michael Smith, California Baptist; John Moon, Oklahoma Christian; Terrell Harris, Georgia College; Eric Siefert, Wheeling Jesuit

# -- 2015 first team & -- 2015 second team

% -- 2015 honorable mention